• Home
  • About Us
  • Secretary, Information and Broadcasting

Secretary, Information and Broadcasting

Sanjay Jaju

Sanjay Jaju
Sanjay comes from the 1992 batch of Indian Administrative Service. He has taken over the charge of Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting on 5th February, 2024.

Sanjay is a Post Graduate Mechanical Engineer and a Cost & Management Accountant by background and has completed MBA in Finance. He has worked in diverse areas like Defence, Urban, Infrastructure, Civil Supplies, Education, Tribal Welfare, Information Technology.

He worked as Additional Secretary in the Department of Defence Production in the Ministry of Defence in the Government of India and looked after the policies for bringing in investments and growth in Defence and Aerospace sectors to advance the “Make in India” resolve. He has also been instrumental in setting up Defence Innovation Organisation & iDEX for creating a collaborative platform for Startups to meet Defence requirements and has been conferred the prestigious Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Public Administration, 2021 on 21 April 2022 during the Civil Services Day. He played a huge role in successful corporatization of Ordnance Factory Board, a long pending reform needed to improve the functioning of these factories established over 200 years back.

He has been the founding Director of the National Highways & Infrastructure Development Corporation Limited (NHIDCL) in the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, GoI to fast pace infrastructure creation on the borders and strategic areas.

He had earlier worked as Secretary to Government of Andhra Pradesh in Information Technology & Communications and Food and Civil Supplies Department and led the programme to complete Aadhaar registration of the residents of erstwhile Andhra Pradesh from start to finish.

He has been an ardent advocate of Information Technology for Development and Governance, he successfully led various projects - ‘MeeSeva’ a comprehensive flagship initiative for delivering host of G2C services in AP (2011), INAMPRO, INFRACON in NHIDCL (2017), DEFEXIM (2021). Many of these have been awarded National e-Governance Awards by Government of India.

He has worked as Municipal Commissioners in Hyderabad & Visakhapatnam