• Home
  • About Us
  • About The Ministry

About The Ministry

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting is one among the early Ministries set up after India’s Independence and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel was India’s first Minister for Information and Broadcasting.

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting is one of the vital Ministries that represent the face of the government in reaching out to the masses. The Ministry is entrusted with the task of disseminating information about government policies, schemes and programmes through the different medium of mass communication covering radio, television, press, social media, printed publicity like booklets; posters, outdoor publicity including through traditional modes of communication such as dance, drama, folk recitals, puppet shows etc. The Ministry is also the focal point as regards policy matters related to private broadcasting sector, administering of the public broadcasting service- Prasar Bharati, multi-media advertising and publicity of the policies and programmes of the Union Government, film promotion and certification and regulation of print media.

On the public service broadcasting sphere, the Ministry overviews matters relating to All India Radio and Doordarshan through the Prasar Bharati (Broadcasting Corporation of India Act),1990 which includes regulation of the use of All India Radio and Doordarshan by recognised national and regional political parties during elections to the Lok Sabha and State Assemblies and procedure to be followed by the official electronic media during periods of national mourning on the demise of a high dignitary.

The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting is functionally organized into three wings (i) Information Wing, (ii) Broadcasting Wing and (iii) Films Wing.

Information Wing
The Information Wing is in charge of the presentation and interpretation of the policies and activities of the Government of India through the medium of the print, electronic and digital media, framing of policy guidelines for rate fixation of government advertisements on print; electronic; and online platform, administering of the Press and Registration of Books Act, 1867, the Press Council Act, 1978 and allocation of newsprint to Newspapers. Besides, it is the administrative wing for the Media Units namely, Press Information Bureau; Central Bureau of Communication; Publications Division; Registrar of Newspapers for India; Indian Institute of Mass Communication, Cadre management of the Indian Information Service (Groups 'A' & 'B')etc.

Broadcasting Wing
The Broadcasting Wing by administering the Prasar Bharati (Broadcasting Corporation of India) Act, 1990 takes care of the affairs of All India Radio and Doordarshan including matters related to development of radio and television broadcasting throughout the Union, installation and maintenance of Radio Stations, Transmitters, operation of television Programme Production Centres etc.

Broadcasting Wing of the Ministry consists of the TV (I) Section, B&PL Section, Community Radio Station (CRS) Section, FM Radio Cell, Digital Addressable System (DAS) Section & Broadcasting Content Sections.

Films Wing
The Films Wing of the Ministry administers the Cinematograph Act, 1952 which looks into certification of films for public exhibition, import of films for theatrical and non-theatrical viewing, export of Indian films, import of unexposed cinematograph films and various types of equipment required by the film industry, all matters relating to film industry, including developmental and promotional activities thereto, promotion of good cinema by institution of State awards for films produced in India and assistance through the National Film Development Corporation Limited, production and distribution of documentaries and newsreels and other films and film strips for internal and external publicity, preservation of films and filmic materials, organization of International Film Festivals in India and participation of India in International Film Festivals abroad, organization of Film Festivals under Cultural Exchange Programmes etc.

The three Wings in the Ministry are assisted and supported in its activities by 11 Attached & Subordinate offices, 5 Autonomous Organizations, 2 Statutory Bodies and 2 Public Sector Undertakings.

Attached and Subordinate Organizations
1) Press Information Bureau.
2) Central Bureau of Communication
3) Publications Division.
4) Office of the Registrar of Newspapers for India
5) Central Board of Film Certification.
6) Electronic Media Monitoring Centre(EMMC)
7) New Media Wing

Autonomous Organizations
1. Prasar Bharati
  a. All India Radio
  b. Doordarshan
2. Film and Television Institute of India, Pune
3. Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute, Kolkata
4. Indian Institute of Mass Communication

Statutory Bodies
1. Press Council of India

Public Sector Undertakings
1. National Film Development Corporation Limited (NFDC)
2. Broadcast Engineering Consultants (India) Limited (BECIL)