• Home
  • Minister
  • Shri Anurag Singh Thakur

Shri Anurag Singh Thakur

Shri Anurag Singh Thakur

Sh. Anurag Singh Thakur Union Minister of Information & Broadcasting and Youth Affairs & Sports.

Sh Anurag Singh Thakur is the Union Minister of Information & Broadcasting and Youth Affairs & Sports. He is a 4th term Member Parliament (Lok Sabha/Lower House) from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh. He previously served as the Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs (31st May 2019 to 7th July 2021).

Within Parliament he has served as Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on IT and Member of Public Accounts Committee. During the 16th Lok Sabha, he was appointed as the Chief Whip, Lok Sabha, becoming the youngest to assume the post. He also represented India at the Parliamentary Committee on WTO and the Steering Committee.

In 2016, he was commissioned as a regular officer in the Territorial Army at the rank of Lieutenant of the 124 Sikh Regiment, thereby becoming the first serving BJP Member of Parliament to join as a regular officer. He was promoted to the rank of Captain in 2021.

He is the former National President of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM- Youth Wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party) and has been the only National President to be appointed for three consecutive terms in the BJP.He is also the first BJYM National President to have worked under three different BJP Presidents - Sh Amit Shah, Sh Rajnath Singh and Sh Nitin Gadkari.Under Sh Anurag Singh Thakur’s leadership, the BJYM led various socio-economic and political initiatives and campaigns. They included, the Rashtriya Ekta Yatra: Kolkata to Kashmir, Shaheed Shradhanjali Yatra – A journey from Guwahati to Tawang to pay homage to 1962 war brave hearts, Sansad Gherao a national agitation against corruption, National Youth Convention, Digital Literacy campaigns, Campus Ambassador Program etc.

Sh Thakur is an avid sports lover and has contributed immensely to sports in the capacity of a sports administrator. He has served as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), President Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA), President Himachal Pradesh Olympic Association (HPOA), President Hockey Himachal, President Himachal Pradesh Table Tennis Association and Associate Vice President Hockey India. He is credited with building the world famous Dharamshala Cricket Stadium which is considered as one of the most picturesque stadiums in the world.

In 2019, he was awarded the Sansad Ratan Award for his outstanding performance as a Parliamentarian, becoming the only Member of Parliament from BJP & North India to be coveted with this honour that year. He was conferred with Champions of Change 2019 Award for significant contributions towards social welfare, particularly in the field of Healthcare, Education and Sports, becoming the only Union Ministerto be awarded with this honour that year. He has also been recognized as a “Young Global Leader” by the World Economic Forum.The Global Fundmade Sh Thakur their‘Global Champion’ in the category of Public Health for raising awareness and building a multi-stakeholder initiative about Tuberculosis under the theme ’TB Harega, Desh Jeetega’.

He also served as the President of the EU-India Parliamentary Friendship Group, President of the FICCI Indo-US Parliamentarians Forum and India- Germany Parliamentarians Forum.

Sh Thakur was born in Samirpur, District Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh on 24 October 1974.